Skip to content

Blog like no-one is watching

March 21, 2011

I understand that businesses want an online voice but their efforts are often misguided. If blogging is a chore or a checklist task, then it shows. Reluctant blogging just adds to the abundance of regurgitated and unnecessary non-information.

Blog because you have something personal to add, an opinion that deserves an audience, or a burning desire to locate some like-minded, same-wavelength readers to open up debate.

Ideas burn a hole in my head, it’s that urge that compels me to create, to write and to share. I have always shared my creative output, before blogging, it was short stories, collections of poems, awkward illustrations, and mix-tapes with elaborately personalised sleeve notes. The medium and the audience have changed but the urge to create remains.

Like most bloggers I started out with a specific readership in mind, yet I am intrigued, fascinated and humbled by the diversity of the audience that have chosen to gather. Creativity, it seems, is not exclusive.

I am honoured by those who take time to comment and offer kind words of inspiration and I endeavor to hold their interest. Yet I continue to blog like no-one is watching, like I’m making a mix-tape for a friend.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 23, 2011 2:06 pm

    I love this post. It holds so true. Off to Twitter now to share…

  2. March 24, 2011 2:50 pm

    well said. I blog like I sing in the shower. Convinced that someone somewhere would find some talent there. And knowing the reality is I’d better hide my face. Just found you from Mothers Always Right. Enjoy the blog! x

    • March 24, 2011 4:04 pm

      Thanks for the comment, from a ‘brilliance in blogging finalist’ as well, glad you like.

  3. March 30, 2011 5:26 pm

    Hi Nick. I love this analogy of creating a mix-tape. When I was writing my blog last year it was very much a mix tape. After 6 months of output I had a blogging identity crisis and hid for ages. Then, eventually, I crept back out (like a snail peeking out of her shell)and thought I could start again with a much clearer focus. Ha! No such luck … it appears that whether I like it or not, I’m still creating a mix tape for anyone who shares my taste in colour, vibrancy, creativity and gorgeousness. And you know what? That’s fine with me!! Thanks for helping me realise.

    • March 30, 2011 7:06 pm

      Hey Bethan, you shouldn’t worry so much. You write a great blog and produce gorgeous illustrations and I love your ambitions for your creative energy. Just keep doing your thing.

      Nick

  4. March 31, 2011 12:26 am

    Hey, thanks for the likey.

    I think I need to apply your philosophy here to writing/creativity in general, as well as blogging.
    I know that accidentally thinking ‘what would my mother say if she read this’ was enough to stop me writing mid-sentence more than once, haha

    I also like what you said about sharing… just made me think maybe a work of art is not really as ‘finished’ as a creative work can be without the audience

    PS. singing in the shower for the win. be careful if you’re gonna dance in there

    • April 1, 2011 3:59 pm

      Hey Jen, thanks for the comment. I think I have a slightly different approach depending if its paid creative work or personal project. Blogging is a self-inflicted habit for me so I tend to go with what I feel is right, ‘like no-one is watching’. I’m really interested in what people think about my ideas but actually try and worry less when I’m writing posts in order to be genuine – bit of a bloggers paradox really.

      Nick

Leave a Reply

