Skip to content

You can never run out of ideas

March 23, 2011

Hey there struggling creative, don’t worry, you can never run out of ideas.

You can run out of time. You can run out of money. You can run out of the room when the going gets tough. You can run out of daylight or disk space or power. Energy, electricity or steam.

You can run out of paper or scissors or stones. You can run out people or products. You can run out of space. You can build it and when no-one turns up you can run out of the door screaming….

You can run out of conviction, run yourself down, you can run to the ends of the earth and back again and still not find a solution. Your enthusiasm can wane and your patience can be tested. Hope lost, optimism a distant memory. You can run out of faith.

But you can never run out of ideas. You can scale the mountain, solve the conundrum, build the bridge, and master any metaphor you use to visualise your creative challenge.

So pick up the pencil and defy the yawning empty white page. You can hide from the task, but you can never run out of ideas.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2011 5:20 pm

    So true! So true! We are idea-fountains aren’t we? I loved this article, as did my pal from Germany who posted a link to it on her Facebook page. My challenge today is … too many ideas, not enough hands/time/energy/directed focus. Eeks. Any ideas?

    • March 30, 2011 6:30 pm

      Thanks Bethan, and thanks to your German friend too. I’m exactly the same as you – as a designer, illustrator, writer, etc etc.. I have a never ending set of projects I want to start. I try and sketch out the bones of a project when it comes to me to capture that initial spark, then make a lot of ‘to-do-one-day’ lists. Just make sure you start ‘something’ and see it through. Cheers, Nick

  2. April 1, 2011 9:40 am

    Hi Nick, well said! Thanks for sharing!

    I find that when I am busy running around trying to do things on my to-do list and thinking “I need more ideas, for a blog post, for ezine”, nothing usually happens – the ideas just “hide” from me.

    I discovered that the key is to honour the ideas as they come. I get up and listen to one of the Eckhart Tolle CD’s and get and idea, then I write it down. Then I arrive to work and briefly chat to a colleague in the corridor – I get another idea from our conversation and write it down. By the end of the day I have 5-6 ideas, all written down, enough for a couple of blog posts, ezine articles and even new products.

    To honouring the ideas 🙂

    Olga

    • April 1, 2011 3:39 pm

      Thanks Olga, I agree that inspiration will strike when we least expect it and often when it’s difficult to act on. In fact the ‘not thinking’ about a creative challenge often lets our subconscious do the hard work. We just need to have the tools and the inclination to capture that creative spark whenever it strikes. To an open mind and a handy notebook. Thanks for the comment.

      Nick

  3. eldhughes permalink
    April 5, 2011 3:15 pm

    I loved this post. A nice boost to begin my morning. Oh, and thanks for liking my post!

  4. April 6, 2011 6:12 am

    Thanks for sending through the link to this post. I love it!

  5. April 6, 2011 9:57 am

    Thanks for the comments, I wrote this to convince myself more than anything, so it’s nice to think that it helps others too. Cheers, Nick

Leave a Reply

